Number Eighteen.

Simple blessings.

 

I need to write this down and share something that happened. I don’t think I deserved it, but I have been so blessed. Oh no, a waterfall under my eyes is already in progress.

 

I’m a college student. That’s no secret. I’ve had the opportunity to go through college under a full tuition scholarship for a little under two years. It’s been amazing to have such an opportunity and requires me to take 15 credits a semester. I’ve struggled semester after semester but I’ve kept the scholarship and continued my education. I’m married now and I knew about two months ago that being married and balancing 15 credits wouldn’t be impossible, but would be difficult. I thought, prayed, pondered, and mostly stressed about the amount of credits I would register for this current semester. Of course I could do the 15, but I wasn’t going to at the expense of my role as a wife, sister, daughter, friend, etc. Education is not more important than my relationships. I made a choice. I signed up for 13 credits knowing my scholarship would be dropped. I prayed that my financial aid would cover tuition. About a week ago, I walked into the scholarship office to deliver some paperwork and was informed my scholarship will not drop until May.

 

I know that it seems as if it was all just a lack of my understanding of dropped scholarship dates, but I know in my heart it wasn’t. I was told more than once that my scholarship would drop if I enrolled in anything less than 15. It wasn’t dropped. I called the head of scholarships to make sure it wasn’t a mistake…it wasn’t.

 

My heart is full. I’m a young 19 year-old married to another young 19-year old. We couldn’t afford to pay tuition let alone books for my classes. I know that The Lord has been watching over me and helps me even when I do not always deserve it.

I’m so humbled by these past few weeks. I couldn’t feel more grateful.

 

Always smile,

A. Brent

One thought on “Number Eighteen.

Leave a comment