Number Nineteen.

I always wanted a little sister.

Instead, I was the little sister in the Ford household. I have a younger brother and an older sister. I’m the middle child…oh middle children. That’s all I have to say about that.

I can’t say I’ve been the best little sister or big sister in my life. I’m just like many… enemies with my siblings when we were younger, best friends now that we’re older. I wish I could go back and change the way I treated my siser and brother when I was a young girl. Now I’m just doing the best I can to enhance these years I have with them now. I’ve got the world’s best siblings to put it simply. My sister and her husband have a relationship that I’ve always admired and used it to help me find my husband. She’s also this little 4’11 genius of a girl…so short but so dang smart! Call me bias, but I think my sister knows everything about nutrition and is the only one I listen to about it. Sorry other fitness/nutrition people! Not to mention she’s like some box of perfection when it comes to spirituality and all of the choices she makes. AND now for my brother. I hated my brother when I was young. We fought every day and I made his life miserable. Now, I just love him. He’s become one of my best friends. Sometimes I just stare at him and ponder how he got so tall, so manly, so kind, and so….hairy…that facial hair. He even has turned into an amazing dancer whom I get to share my love and passion with now. I love that boy so much. Anyways… where is this going?

As much as I love my sister and brother, I’ve recently had the opportunity to have the little sister I always wanted. About 6 months ago I joined the Big Brother Big Sister program not realizing how much I would love it. One night at Kalamity practice, a representative from the program came and talked to us about the application process and such. At first I was excited but didn’t know if I would actually apply. I went home and thought about it some more. One thing followed another and I found myself sitting in the interview. I passed…yay…and the only thing left to do was wait to be matched.

Today I am matched with a beautiful little 6 year-old girl named Aaliyah. She’s shy sometimes, but I love her. Each month we go on little dates that include bowling, movies, baking, dancing, etc. We now have a handshake and this girl lights up my life. No matter how busy school and life may seem, I always have time for Aaliyah and that smile. Being around children literally takes me away from my adult life and instantly helps me feel closer to the Lord because He loves His little children so much and His light is visible on their faces.

I’ll be honest, I didn’t know if I wanted to be matched with someone really young. Age 6 is the absolute youngest child in the program, but I can now say that it was no accident we were matched together. I’m not here to tell anyone how to live or what to do, but I suggest everyone that doesn’t have kids of their own… join the program and get to know your little brother or sister. They may just be waiting for you.

 

Always smile,

A.Brent

One thought on “Number Nineteen.

  1. You are amazing Alexa!! And I have to agree you do have an amazing brother and sister!! I am so proud of the woman you have become and I only hope that our relationship can continue to grow also! I love you!!

Leave a comment