Number Thirteen.

I know. I haven’t posted in ages. But I sure have a good reason to post 🙂

I’m engaged. WHAT THE HECK?!?! There, I already said it for you so you didn’t have to! I saved you the breath. Yes, I’m engaged. I’m sure many have seen it via Facebook and Instagram. Most probably didn’t see it coming unless you’re really close to me. But now the news is out and I can talk about it.

I was in middle school when Garret and I became friends. Yes, I’m marrying the boy I had a crush on in middle school. We were always just friends. He was a skinny jean, tall-tee wearing, long haired punk to put it nicely. We always just Myspaced…hahahah. He would always message me on there and tell me hilarious stories to brighten my days. He’d text me sometimes but our friendship was very casual. OF COURSE I thought he was cute but I was just a nerdy tennis player…not meant to be okay? Anyways… I have to tell one story though to embarrass him. One night we were online talking and I was at home sick. He worked my favorite ice cream into our conversation and little did I know, my doorbell rang and there he was… standing with my favorite oreo ice cream. He even had his skinny jeans on that were tighter than mine. But he was there smiling and gave me a big hug then ran back to his mom’s car. HE COULDN’T EVEN DRIVE !!! He made his mom take him to get me ice cream. Sorry, I just think it’s the sweestest thing ever. It melted my heart. I know, I know… I’m getting mushy but I don’t care.

High school arrived and we were still friends. Not much had changed beside the fact that his shirts got smaller and his pants got biggger and even his hair was shorter at times. I dated other boys and he dated other girls. He was still the boy that girls loved because of his ‘bad boy’ attitude and I was still the girl that got straight A’s, played tennis, and read books against the wall at school. He eventually transferred back to PineView High and I didn’t talk to him much after that. We saw each other here and there because of some mutual friends.

The summer before senior year ❤
This special summer arrived and I guess this changed everything. I hung out with him any day that I could and we had the typical high school ‘summer fling’. It was wonderful for lack of a better word. I didn’t even know how a boy like him and a girl like me ended up together, but we did and guess what? I wasn’t complaining 🙂 Well, things didn’t end when summer did. We still continued to go to different high schools and have different friends. Homecoming came about and there was NO WAY in heck that Garret was going to ask me. First of all, Garret never went to high school dances unless they were girl ask guy so the girls asked him and THE GIRLS PAID. I was wrong, he did ask me and we did go to my Homecoming together. The night of the dance he asked me to be his girlfriend and we were together all the way up until graduation. We saw each other graduate and then in the summer, we went our separate ways. I know… that sounds so calm. Really, our break up was a complete mess on my end because I loved that boy and every boy I tried dating after that, didn’t compare at all. I went through my freshman year of college with no Garret to be seen. Not a lot of people knew, but we still remained talking even though we weren’t together… go figure right? I couldn’t get enough of that boy. A few months ago in June, things just fell into place. We both grew up, matured, and got back together. This wasn’t just any ‘get back together’ story, it was for real this time. I knew I wanted to be with him forever.

So now where are we?

Well when we got back together, Garret made the decision to join the military. So that’s the plan he is currently pursing. As that decision was made, marriage was brought up in the conversation and ever since then, it’s been the plan. We went ring shopping and I told him the one I loved and then on September 2nd, he surprised me and proposed! Here’s the actual  picture of the moment…(look at how cute he looks)IMG_2197

This moment was captured because Cambria, my friend on Kalamity, told me she wanted to get better at photography and practice on Garret and I! So we took the opportunity and this was all really just a plan for Garret to propose but I had no idea. We went up by the D by the old air port and that's where he did it. It was almost the exact spot he asked me to be his girlfriend in high school. He turned me around and started telling me he loved me in a serious tone and said he wanted to have a family with me. Of course I was choking back tears and said YES!

 
That’s that, I’m going to be a military wife and we’re about to travel the world together. We’re getting married December 29th in the St. George temple. I’m marrying my best friend and my middle school crush. I couldn’t ask for a better love story and a better fiance.
 
Garret Brent, you’re the best thing to ever happen to me. I love you. I can’t wait to be your wife.
 
 
 
 
There’s our story. Simple and in writing. I’m the luckiest girl alive. Period.
 
 
 
 
Always smile,
A.Ford
 

Leave a comment