Number Ten.

I am a Kalamity dancer.

 
I have been shaped, carved, and molded. I have become an instrument in the Lord’s hands to serve others. I was a raw piece of clay and Tia was and STILL is the artist. I will never be complete because each sweat that drips from my body helps etch me into a better dancer. Please don’t get me wrong, I’m surrounded by teammates. I’m side-by-side with my sisters. They are all being molded just like me.  And together, we are a big tool to the community. We aren’t all the same. Some have husbands, some have children, and some have their textbooks, but united—our goal is the same. This goal wouldn’t be made possible without the woman that started this masterpiece. We call her mama Tia. Kalamity came from these few things: Tia, a few other dancers, a garage, a pair of chucks, and the pure love of dance.
I don’t know the process that Kalamity has been through to be where it is today because I’ve only been a member since April of 2010. I was a 16 year old tennis player when I was invited to be on Kalamity with girls that were years older than me. I had no idea what I was getting myself into but that simple decision to accept has changed my life. And all I know is this– Kalamity is where it is today as a direct result from the Lord. I could go on forever about Kalamity and what it means to me but words can’t help anyone understand what we do without truly being a part of it. And yes, for those of you who ask, our 4:50am practices are worth it. And you want to know why they are worth it?
My answer is simple: JB. And no, I’m not talking about Justin Bieber. I’m talking about someone much more important. I’m talking about Jeanette Bracken. She’s a single mom with five kids and is in need of a kidney transplant. Our practices start with a prayer for her and end with a prayer for her. Next weekend will be the show for her. My excitement is beyond measure at this point. I hope the community comes to support us and Jeanette Bracken. We love her and our Heavenly Father has directed us to help her, but we can’t do it alone. I hope everyone that reads this comes to enjoy our love of dance and service. It’s not just about dancing… not anymore.
 
 
 
 Always smile,
A.Ford

Leave a comment